January 19, 2016 – Critical Access Hospital Conditions of Participation What’s New for 2016?

Date: Tuesday – January 19, 2016
8AM Hawaii-10AM PST-11AM Arizona-11AM Mountain-Noon Central-1PM EST
Presenter: Carolyn St.Charles, RN, BSN, MBA, Regional Chief Clinical Officer

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) significantly revised the Critical Access Hospital Conditions of Participation (CoPs) in 2015. A significant number of sections were revised including nursing, drugs and biologicals, pharmacy, dietary, infection control, lab, radiology and contracted services.

Many CAHs are reporting increased scrutiny of the standards by surveyors and also finding it much more difficult to clear deficiencies once they have been identified.

An overview of the revised changes will be discussed as well as strategies for maintaining compliance with specific CoPs.
Carolyn St.Charles, RN, BSN, MBA began her healthcare career as a staff nurse in Intensive Care. She has worked in a variety of staff, administrative and consulting roles and has been in her current position as Regional Chief Clinical Officer with HealthTechS3 for the last fifteen years.

In her role as Regional Chief Clinical Officer, Carolyn St.Charles conducts mock surveys for Critical Access Hospitals, Acute Care Hospitals, Long Term Care, Rural Health Clinics, Home Health and Hospice. Carolyn also provides assistance in developing strategies for continuous survey readiness and developing plans of correction.

View the Recording and Powerpoint Slides

Click Here to View the Recording

Click Here to View the Powerpoint Slides