QUALITY & PATIENT SAFETY: The Second Curve of Quality and Patient Safety

Date/Time:  March 18, 2014 * 9AM Pacific—10AM Mountain—11AM Central—Noon Eastern

Description: This webinar will discuss the evolution of a Quality Council that has grown from receiving data for the sake of receiving data, and has moved to Board involvement and leadership.  In addition, the development of a multi-faceted “Patient Care Bundle of Care” that evolved from multiple strategies, behaviors and best practices that standardized our approach to patient and family centered care across our organization will be presented. This was completed to improve our patient satisfaction scores and quality outcomes.

Speakers:

Linda McClarigan, RN, BSN, MSHA, Chief Nursing Officer at Adirondack Health, was the team leader in the development of this bundle.  Linda has more than 20 years of patient care experience in acute, critical care and leadership positions. She is responsible for the leadership, administration and evaluation of patient care at Adirondack Health. Her dedication to the safety, well- being of her patients, her vision for the profession of nursing, her dedication to excellence and ability to lead others is demonstrated in the overall development of this Patient Care Bundle.

Adele S. Hodlin, RN, MS, CPHQ, PSLF, AVP for Quality and Risk at Adirondack Health, has more than 30 years of experience in the fields of hospital quality and risk management. She founded the Northeastern Quality Assurance Association (NEQAA) and served as its first President. Adele received her Certification in Healthcare Quality in 1985. A graduate of the Disney Institute for Service Excellence, Adele was
inducted in 2012 as a Patient Safety Fellow through the American Hospital Association-National Patient Safety Foundation Comprehensive Patient Safety Leadership Fellowship.

Handouts:
The Second Curve of Quality and Patient Safety

2014 Patient Family Centered Care Bundle

2014 STORYBOARD Patient Care bundle

Recording:  https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/340023464