SURGICAL SERVICES COLLABORATIVE: Building Relationships between Surgery and Central Sterile

February 25, 2015

Noon Pacific—1PM Arizona—1PM Mountain—2PM Central—3PM Eastern

Description: Our first Surgical Services Collaborative of 2015 will discuss the relationships between Surgical Services and Central Sterile including: Teambuilding techniques; Barriers to communication; Effective Change processes; and Surgical Tech and Central Services Tech certification.

Speaker: Deborah Spratt, MPA, BSN, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC, CRCST, CHL Deborah is currently the Director of Surgical Services at United Memorial Medical Center in Batavia NY. She was previously the Manager of Sterile Processing at the Canandaigua VAMC in Canandaigua NY. She has also held recent staff, manager, and director roles in perioperative services at a university teaching hospital, community hospital and an ASC. She contributed to the AORN publications, Ambulatory Surgery Principles and Practices, and Leadership in Action-A Manager’s Guide to Success. She is one of several authors of the book Operating Room Management. Ms. Spratt has testified as an expert witness in the areas of ambulatory/office-based surgery and OR nursing practice and was a member of the New York State Department of Health’s Committee on Quality Assurance in Office Based Surgery and the Procedural and Site Verification Panel. Ms. Spratt is a member of AONE, ANA, IAHCSMM, and Sigma Theta Tau and was the AORN 2012-2013 President.

View Handout

View Presentation

registerbutton